Click on Flag or Select Language to Translate

ArabicChinese (Simplified)DutchEnglishFrenchGermanHindiIndonesianItalianJapanesePortugueseRussianSpanishTurkishUrduBengaliNepali


Waltzing Australia


Tuesday, September 21, 2010

6. The Australian Flag

The Australian flag has the Southern Cross and the Commonwealth Star, or Federation Star.

The Southern Cross is one of the largest constellations visible in the Southern Hemisphere

The Federation Star has seven points representing the States and Territories of Australia. All the stars have seven points except the small star which has five and in Bible numerics seven means completion - Seal of God (ie seven days of the week).

The Union flag in the corner symbolises Australia's history as six British colonies and the principles upon which the Australian Federation is based,

No comments: